ARB: January 11th 2018

ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW BOARD
MEETING MINUTES
Mayfield Village
Jan 11, 2018

The Architectural Review Board met in regular session on Thurs, Jan 11, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. at the Mayfield Village Civic Center Main Conference Room. Chairman Parker presided.        

ROLL CALL

Present: Mr. Ed Parker (Chairman), Mr. Carmen Miozzi (Chairman Pro Tem), Mr. Steven Varelmann, and Dr. James Triner

Also Present: Mr. John Marrelli (Building Commissioner) and Ms. Deborah Garbo (Secretary)

Absent: None

CONSIDERATION OF MEETING MINUTES: Sept 28, 2017, Oct 26, 2017, Dec 14, 2017

Mr. Miozzi, seconded by Mr. Marrelli made a motion to approve the minutes of Sept 28, 2017, Oct 26, 2017 & Dec 14, 2017.

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Mr. Parker, Mr. Miozzi, Mr. Marrelli  
Nays: None              

Motion Carried. Minutes Approved as written.

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING 2018:

  • Welcome New Board Members Steven Varelmann & Dr. James Triner
  • Election of Chairman
  • Election of Chairman Pro Tem
  • Election of Secretary

PROPOSAL:

  1. New Single Family Dwelling
    Mr. & Mrs. Domin Lovric
    729 SOM Ctr. Rd.
    PP # 831-24-029
    Richard A. Beck & Assoc. Ltd

OPEN PORTION:

Chairman Parker called the meeting to order, welcoming new Board Members Steven Varelmann and Dr. James Triner.  

Chairman Parker invited applicant’s representative to come up and explain proposal.

Richard Beck, Architect with Richard A. Beck & Associates, Ltd introduced himself. These drawings are from an Architect in California. They want to retain the front elevation as is.

  • Floor Plan

Richard Beck said, they want to make three minor changes. First change; they want to shift the garage door from the left side of the garage to the right side. Flip over to Sheet 1 of 8, that has my Architect Seal and that shows you that modification.

Mr. Beck hands out;

  • Site Plan by Polaris Engineering.
  • Partial Site Location Plan by himself.

Mr. Marrelli said, the site plan will go to our Village Engineer for review. This shows a house next door to the south. The north is an empty lot. This shows two driveways next to each other.

Mr. Varelmann said, there’s an existing drive and curb cut there that would serve this house.

Mr. Marrelli said, I’ll defer to the Village Engineer. We try to keep from having two driveways right next to each other, especially on a main street.

Richard Beck continues. Second change; they’re increasing the size of the Laundry Room and adding a Window on the right side of the house. If you go back to the California plan, he had a storage room there. Third change; in the back of the house, there’s an angled wall by the Breakfast and Great Room, they want to square that off. We’ll keep the door to swing in.

Richard Beck said, they did have a Lavatory when you come in from the garage into the Laundry Room and closet. Going straight ahead is a hallway, they want to add a Lavatory there in the hallway going into the main part of the house, on the left side of the stairway. I was able to work that out by moving the wall from the Dining Room a little bit to the left. They had a closet and little desk there that will be omitted.

Mr. Marrelli asked, is the covered porch part of the original drawing?

Richard Beck replied, yes. It’s what you call a Grilling Porch. The Fireplace will be eliminated. On my Sheet 1 of 8, it shows the covered porch to the rear of the house with posts and wood deck.

Mr. Varelmann said, he just drew this partially, then you have to in your mind imagine what it would look like on this drawing.

Chairman Parker said, it’s not a requirement, but just a comment, you can’t get into the garage from the front of the house without actually walking around. The owner might want a door access there.

Richard Beck said, I see what you’re saying, they don’t want to do that. The original California drawing did not show a door from the exterior of the house to the garage per say. In order to get into the garage is through the house itself.

Chairman Parker said, that’s up to you. If it were my house, I’d want to able to get in there pretty quickly without having to go to the south side.

Richard Beck states, that concludes the changes to the floor plan.

  • Eifs & Dryvit

Richard Beck introduced Suzana Lovric. She’ll help me go through these color samples with you. Let’s start with the front elevation.

Mr. Marrelli said, you mentioned to me that that glass block window’s out on the right elevation.  

Richard Beck replied, yes it is.

Mr. Marrelli said, then that whole right elevation is just all brick. 

Richard Beck explained to John, my problem is I didn’t want to touch the drawings that have the original Architects Stamp. That’s why I made these supplemental drawings.

Mr. Marrelli said, except you didn’t make any supplemental elevation changes.

Richard Beck replied, I did not. They were so minor I didn’t think that would be necessary.

Mr. Varelmann said, the other thing that’s important about the elevations is if you look at the notes, the other three sides except for the front, is all Eifs. The elevations in brick show at least some detailing around the window with a soldier course of brick. Without an elevation, it means that that whole elevation could be just flat plain Eifs with no breaks.

Chairman Parker asked, are you planning on using just Eifs on the sides and back?

Suzana Lovric questioned Eifs.

Chairman Parker said, it’s an exterior synthetic insulation.

Suzana Lovric asked, do you mean Dryvit?

Mr. Varelmann said, they’re calling it Dryvit on the color schedule.

Mr. Marrelli asked, is it a stucco Dryvit?

Suzana Lovric replied, yes.

Mr. Varelmann said, it’s on every elevation but the front.

Mr. Marrelli said, that means this all brick house is ¾ not brick.

Suzana Lovric said, brick is going to be just on the front of the house and cultured stone.

Mr. Varelmann said, usually with Eifs, it almost looks like trim, it’s easy to work with, but they’ll cut Styrofoam or some kind of other material to emulate trim or accentuate the windows. 

Chairman Parker said, you have 1/2 inch lines, you’re going to want to make sure that those are where you want them to be. I’m curious, I don’t see too much Dryvit on residences like this. Why Dryvit, was it cost?

Suzana Lovric replied, no.

Chairman Parker said, it’s a process to actually put it on.

Mr. Varelmann said, it’s a cement base product. Whereas Eifs is a synthetic acrylic, like a Styrofoam.

Mr. Marrelli said, that’ll be the only house in town with it that I know of.

Mr. Varelmann said, it’s around. My point is, it would be good to see how it’s designed.

Mr. Marrelli asked, is there a problem with redrawing these elevations to reflect actually what you’re doing, besides the cost?

Richard Beck replied, no.

Chairman Parker said, I think we have to step back and say you’re not presenting us the actual design that you’re planning to build. We definitely want to see drawings of the plan of what it’s going to look like. You have stucco here, but then what happens around the windows? No trim? Just a sill? Are there going to be shutters? You’ve got to turn that Eifs into something. It’s got to stop somewhere.

Mr. Miozzi said, we definitely need to see window detail.

Chairman Parker demonstrates to Suzana, this façade here stays the same, this is the same, then it turns and the other sides are not.

Mr. Marrelli said, the two sides and the back are all stucco.

Chairman Parker said, that Eifs detail to grade is not good.

  • Walkout Basement

Mr. Varelmann asked, since the lot slopes down to the rear, do you plan to have a walkout basement?

Suzana Lovric replied, no.

Mr. Varelmann said, it’s quite a bit of fall. If you look at the contours, you have from the front corner where the garage is, just per this drawing, you’re going to have 3 feet of the foundation exposed.

Mr. Marrelli said, and you can’t have just block exposed.

Mr. Varelmann said, it’s a perfect lot for a walkout basement.

Mr. Miozzi said, with this driveway being so long, you’ve got 2 ½ feet that the driveway’s going to be sticking up, or are they going to try to fill this back to the back corner?

Suzana Lovric said, actually I was thinking about a walkout basement. I didn’t know how high this was. 

Richard Beck said, we didn’t know how high everything was. This is the first time we’re seeing these contours.

Mr. Marrelli said, you have 4’ of foundation plus you have the whole story above and one half.

Mr. Varelmann said, we should request additional elevations reflecting the actual design.

Mr. Marrelli said, now that you got your elevations today, maybe you want to go back to the drawing board and get us some elevations and talk to your client about a walkout before you look for an approval because I don’t think we have enough information.

  • Colors & Materials

Chairman Parker said, maybe we could at least look at the colors and comment whether we like the materials or not. That way when the next meeting comes, it would be a final approval. I apologize, you started holding up the materials and we started this other conversation.

Richard Beck & Suzana Lovric show color samples & materials. Dryvit is bright white, shake siding above garage is eggshell and the roof shingles are a charcoal color Timberline dimensional shingle.

Mr. Marrelli asked, brick for the chimney?

Richard Beck replied, cultured stone, brown blend.

Mr. Miozzi asked, the fascias & soffits?

Richard Beck replied, white trim, white windows and gray downspouts and gutters. The exterior doors brown, garage door white, shutters brown.

Mr. Marrelli asked, are you using these kinds of shutters, Rowlock?

Suzana Lovric replied, yes.

Mr. Marrelli asked, are they plastic or wood?

Suzana Lovric replied plastic.

Mr. Marrelli asked, on the big Living Room window too?

Suzana Lovric replied, no.

Mr. Marrelli asked, what are you doing there, the one in the stone? You have two on the garage and one on the Living Room.

Mr. Miozzi asked, the fascia behind the gutters, that’s white aluminum and you’re putting a gray gutter on top of it?

Suzana Lovric said, we’ll change the gray to white then.

Chairman Parker said, we’re having a hard time because we’re having to completely visualize everything, including the design. What we really need are some color elevations. It would be nice if you could get some renderings, but elevations would be fine so we could completely understand what’s being proposed to us, and you’re right on SOM Ctr. Rd.

Mr. Miozzi said, I don’t know where gray ties in with this, with a gray gutter and this stuff being white, it doesn’t tie in. 

Mr. Marrelli agreed. There isn’t any gray anywhere. 

Mr. Varelmann said, going back to the shutters, you said plastic. Can you buy them off the shelf or are they being made in the field?

Chairman Parker said, we’ll need to see the shutter material. Windows are white vinyl?

Suzana Lovric replied, yes.

Mr. Varelmann said, you have plumbing on the front half of the building. I’m wondering if you could, on your elevations maybe show the stack if you’re going to try to have the vent stack in the rear roof. 

Mr. Marrelli said, it has to go in the back, the plumbing stack cannot come out of the front. It’ll have to cross over the back. Plus, you still have to give us Energy Code Calculations and all that other good stuff.

  • Foundation & Grade

Richard Beck said, foundation will be concrete block. 

Mr. Marrelli asked, you’ll have brick to grade, correct? Because now that you know you’re going to have 3 or 4 feet around the back, it’ll make a difference.

Richard Beck replied, yes. When they excavate, you’re going to have a lot of excess dirt from the basement. If they don’t haul it out, they’ll put it around the house. It costs a lot of money to remove dirt from the site. 

Mr. Marrelli asked, are you going to make a big hill next to the house?

Chairman Parker said, you’ll just need to make sure that hill isn’t pushing water to the other properties.

Mr. Marrelli said, you have to follow this grading plan, you can’t just change it when you’re building a house. Once the Engineer approves the grade, that’s the grade. If you don’t want to move dirt out of there, you better have your Engineer regrade it. He’s got the lot falling away from the house, you’re saying, when we dig a hole, let’s just put it up against the house. Your idea goes against what your Engineer is telling us he’s doing.

Richard Beck said, as I said, this is the first I’m seeing the Engineer’s site plan.

Mr. Marrelli said, you need to get on the same page with your Engineer.  

Mr. Varelmann said, another way to do it is, especially with a walkout basement is to raise the house a little bit because not only do you excavate less for the basement, but then you have a place to mount the dirt up around the house. There are devices you could use to balance the excavation on site and not have to haul it off.

Mr. Marrelli said, the elevation on the house next door is 942 first floor and you’re at 946 first floor. You’re already 4’ higher. Maybe when you come back, you could bring a picture of the houses on both sides to compare.

Richard Beck said, we were aware of that John, but we just didn’t have enough time to do that, so I do apologize.

Mr. Marrelli said, that’s o.k. you could take the time to do it now. There’s some work that needs to be done.

Dr. Triner notes, there’s an empty lot on the other side.

Chairman Parker said, when you come back to the next meeting, we’ll want to see cut sheets for the light fixtures. Also, we’re noticing that’s not a typical garage door, it’s a pretty nice garage door. Is your intent to do a nicer style?

Suzana Lovric replied, yes. 

Mr. Marrelli said, you’ll have to pick something out and Mr. Beck will put it on the drawing so we’ll know what you’re doing. That’s a custom door, I would imagine very expensive.

Suzana Lovric said yes it is, a very expensive door.

Mr. Marrelli summarizes. All the brick is gone, it’s Dryvit mostly. The gingerbread on the door is gone. We really don’t know what you’re doing except the brick on the front. Everything else is different. We’ll need you to come back with color elevations, materials and everything else per our discussion tonight. We have to regroup.

DECISION:

Mr. Varelmann, seconded by Mr. Miozzi made a motion to TABLE.           

ROLL CALL

Ayes: All                               
Nays: None                          

Motion Carried. Proposal TABLED.

  • Hyperlink to Agenda website postings

Mr. Varelmann asked, did someone scan all these materials and put it on the website?

Ms. Garbo replied, yes. I scanned the materials and Jeff Thomas did the posting to our website. Does the digital posting help?

Mr. Varelmann replied, very much so. It’s great, that’s what I prefer.

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING 2018:

  • Election of Chairman
  • Election of Chairman Pro Tem
  • Election of Secretary

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Chairman Parker opened the nomination for 2018 Chairman of the A.R.B.

Dr. Triner, seconded by Mr. Miozzi made the motion to nominate Ed Parker.

There being no objections, the nominations were closed.

Chairman Parker asked if there was any discussion. There was none.

Chairman Parker asked for a Roll Call on the nomination.

ROLL CALL:

Ayes: All
Nays: None                          

Motion Carried. Ed Parker to serve as 2018 Chairman.

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN PRO-TEM

Chairman Parker opened the nomination for 2018 Chairman Pro-Tem of the A.R.B.

Mr. Varelmann, seconded by Chairman Parker made the motion to nominate Carmen Miozzi. 

There being no objections, the nominations were closed.

Chairman Parker asked if there was any discussion. There was none.

Chairman Parker asked for a Roll Call on the nomination.

ROLL CALL:

Ayes: All   
Nays: None                          

Motion Carried. Carmen Miozzi to serve as 2018 Chairman Pro-Tem.

ELECTION OF SECRETARY

Chairman Parker opened the nomination for 2018 Secretary of the A.R.B.

Chairman Parker, seconded by Mr. Miozzi made the motion to nominate Deborah Garbo.

There being no objections, the nominations were closed.

Chairman Parker asked if there was any discussion. There was none.

Chairman Parker asked for a Roll Call on the nomination.

ROLL CALL:

Ayes: All  
Nays: None                          

Motion Carried. Deborah Garbo to serve as 2018 Secretary.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, Mr. Miozzi, seconded by Chairman Parker made a motion to adjourn the meeting.

ROLL CALL

Ayes: All                             
Nays: None                          

Motion Carried. Meeting adjourned at 8:15 p.m.